Sunrise, Haircut by mary elizabeth

The other night, my daughter and I were discussing fake hair pieces which reminded us of the hair piece that came with her American Girl doll’s Irish ensemble.  This was a “my twin” doll, who she named Siobahn.   I said, “Gosh – has anyone seen Siobahn lately?” and we immediately thought of  the song “Siobahn” by the Tossers.  From this little exchange, my daughter came up with what might be a fabulous idea: outfits and sets for the American Girl dolls of teenagers who don’t want to get rid of them but have, of course, outgrown them.  But these outfits will have a dark twist.  For example: a groupie set, a drug and alcohol experimentation set, a pregnancy scare set.  They could come with all sorts of fun accessories like tattoos, piercings, trashy outfits.  And for the historical themes, maybe the Salem witch trials? The Manson family? I think it’s a smashing idea, and just like our little girls couldn’t really be historical heroines like their dolls were, maybe they’ll be satisfied living out these teenage fantasies on plastic replicas, too.

Speaking of hair, yesterday marked four years of sobriety for me.  And you know what that means?  Time for my annual haircut!  Yes – once a year I actually get a haircut and use my sobriety date to mark it.  I like that this special day comes right as the holidays begin in earnest.  (The sobriety part – not the hair cut – although who doesn’t want pretty hair for the holidays?)  There’s so much to look forward to as the year winds down and I am so ready for new opportunities and attitudes!  I’m excited to end the year with celebrations and food and gifts and begin 2012 with a clean slate and healthy hair!

Leave a Reply

