“F” Words by mary elizabeth

Monday was United Nations day.  I really should write an informative little essay on the United Nations, its history and relevance today.  But that, dear reader, wouldn’t be my style.  How would I get my whiny complaints in if I just informed you about the United Nations?  Impossible.  So – happy United Nations day!  Now, let’s move on.

I guess unity and connection would be remotely related to United Nations day.  How are you at maintaining connections?  I’m not exactly batting a thousand right now, but that’s given me an opportunity to focus on the people and things in my life which are really important to keep.  Relationships, whether they be friendly, romantic, organized or professional, take work and consciousness.  I am truly trying to be present for as many moments as possible during the day. The longer I’m sober, the more I find that if I really try and live in reality with all its emotions and chores, the better off I am.  As I try to maintain some sort of balance, the useless weights become more apparent and I can lighten my load.  In other words, “Focus, Mary Elizabeth!”

Leave a Reply

