Perpetual Motion by mary elizabeth

I think we may have to move, again, in the pretty near future and I’m not really excited about it. If we move to greener pastures, somewhere more exciting, that’ll be cool and positive and all that. But – it still requires physically doing it and that’s not too exciting, or cool or positive or anything. And – if we just have to move to diminished quarters here, I’m going to be hard pressed to keep my smiling, happy attitude in tact. I have moved my kids around this town so many times in the last two years it’s actually rather comical. Unless, of course, you’re my kids. The worst thing about all this moving is the stupid, misguidedly optimistic feeling of “this time we’re really home!” we always get when we move into the next installment of our nomadic existence. I’m feeling kind of sorry for us right at this moment (in case you couldn’t tell) and am wondering what the lesson is in all this upheaval. 

Are there always lessons? Is there a period in your life upon which you reflect and think, “Nope – no lesson there. Just a bunch of monkeyshine.”? I don’t know. Are we always using 20/20 hindsight to color the more monkeyshiny bits with life lessons? I hope not. But then again – there’s something sort of annoying about suspecting everything’s just another stupid lesson in the school of hard knocks. Whatever – I’m glad I learned that lesson about the hot stove, and the one about loaning money to people who don’t have any. I’m glad I’ve finally learned that honesty really IS the best policy and that respecting yourself is the only way to earn respect. And, even more importantly, I’ve learned it only takes three strong men to move a piano and that “security deposit” is just another way of saying “gratuity”.  All important lessons – all helping me to move ahead.

3 thoughts on “Perpetual Motion by mary elizabeth

  1. Pennah Neese says:

    Mary, Mary. We’re constantly being challenged in life, aren’t we.? I do feel for you having to pack up the whole house-hold, up-root the kids again, just the stress of “doing it again” can be trying. Bob and I moved from the Avalon House B&B, then from our place by McKerricker to town. Thank god the last move to Moura was just a studio full. Think of it as the last place you’ll all be moving to and that once you get all unpacked, you” be so relieved and happy. The kids will adjust and forgive and move on like we all do. Thank God, in sobriety, that all things are possible, Faith that when you do move, it’ll be the right thing to do for all of you. I shall keep you all in my prayers. Love you lots Mary Elizabeth. Thanks for being my friend. You’re a survivor, as we all are. take care. Love Pennah

  2. Moving is tough but somehow, like everything else, you get through it. Packing up is never fun.

Leave a Reply

