Make A Village by mary elizabeth

Last night my daughter and I watched The Color Purple. It’s got to be one of the very top feel good/bad movies of all time. We missed some of the beginning, but that’s okay – now she can read the book. Anyhow – all that feeling good/bad has really put sisterhood in my mind. Where would we gals be without our women friends? I’d be a wreck. I mean, I’m absolutely head over heels in love with my boyfriend, but I don’t know that I’d have the courage and confidence to feel so strongly about him if I didn’t have the support of my women friends. And, I know I’m a better parent due to their advice and comfort. Basically, it doesn’t just take a village to raise a child, it takes one for all of us.

Left to my own devices, I can whip myself into a frenzy of self-loathing despair before I even get to work in the morning. Thankfully, I work with some of the most amazing women I’ve ever had the privilege to know. They can snap me out of it before my first cup of coffee. In fact, we’ve often laughed so hard my stupid mascara’s all drooled down my face by nine thirty. And I’m doubly blessed to have a super solid bunch of women friends outside of work as well. Life is scary. I used to combat that with alcohol. I’m happy to say I haven’t chosen to use that particular brand of courage for over three years now. I use my village.

One thought on “Make A Village by mary elizabeth

  1. Brett says:

    That is just awesome Mary. Your sharing happiness is aglow. A beam of positivity for us all ;-] …to have a network of people you can truly call friends is priceless. It makes life itself that much more radiant…”

Leave a Reply

