5 Thanks by mary elizabeth

So – I’ve taken some time off from personal blogging because I got sick of the sound of my own voice.  But – it’s not bothering me so much today, so I thought I’d reel one out on the beloved subject of gratitude.  I know, I know – super boring.  Lately, I’ve tried to boil it down, though.  For what, exactly, am I grateful?  I mean, some of the things I try and list to the universe on a daily basis really belong on a “I wish I felt more grateful for:” list.  Like, seriously, who’s truly grateful for your boyfriend every day?  How about your job?  You get the point. Knowing the things for which we ought to be grateful is a far cry from being grateful.  So – I’ve decided to list five things for which I am TRULY GRATEFUL.

  1. my children’s’ health, intellect and good looks
  2. my sobriety
  3. coffee
  4. the CD player in my car
  5. good friends

For those of you wondering. I left cigarettes off the list not because I don’t love them more than anything else in the world and have found them to be the only reliable constant in my life time and time again, but because I’m actually aware that they’ll eventually kill me. So – off the list. Then, of course, there’s home facial wax without which I couldn’t live either, but it’s expensive and messy and endless. Off the list! Those things listed are the ones I can feel grateful for all the time without any catches. So, I’m curious. In the words of my friends at Café Gratitude, “What are you grateful for?”

2 thoughts on “5 Thanks by mary elizabeth

  1. Teresa says:

    Crop circles!

Leave a Reply

