Fort Bragg Prison Blues by mary elizabeth

Three of the people very closest to my heart just hate it here: my daughter, my boyfriend and my dear friend Kerry. I don’t really blame them and all three of them make valid points. It is a very small town and there’s absolutely nothing to do if you’re between the ages of 12 and 72. You can’t swing a dead cat without hitting someone you wish you didn’t know. Everything’s always closed. On those rare occasions when the sun comes out, it’s too windy to enjoy it. Anything that goes wrong, they blame on poor old Fort Bragg.  And you know what? I’d like nothing better than to jump on that crabby little band wagon with them.

But that wouldn’t help my “bloom where you’re planted” philosophy at all. Mainly because this philosophy is a relatively new one and I am clinging to it most tenuously. Dissatisfaction with the hand I’ve been dealt is a hard habit to break.  For one thing, you can’t feel sorry for yourself anymore.  I mean, you can’t be the victim of circumstances you embrace. You can’t cry over milk you’re happy you spilt. I have to tell you, though, thinking this way has made my life so much more bearable for the forty to forty-five minutes a day I’m actually able to master it. Try it! My three little nay-sayers are beyond help, but that’s okay. Not only do I love them anyway, they make me look so spirtually superior! Life is good.

4 thoughts on “Fort Bragg Prison Blues by mary elizabeth

  1. Mary G. says:

    I always love your posts! There’s one thing I’d like to add to the discussion this time…

    Personally, I find there’s far more to do here on the north coast than I can possibly get around to doing. I don’t need to live in a sensory overload environment to feel satisfied with my options. Lots of people want to feel busy. Why? I’ve discovered that visiting the bay area once every 3 or 4 weeks is plenty!

    • thanks, mary! and – i think lots of people feel that way, just not any of the ones i hang out with these days. and, yes, i must also say i feel plenty busy without adding tons more stuff to do. but – at the same time, some different options from time to time would be welcome. my boyfriend and daughter are musicians, too, and would like access to a more active music scene. personally, i wouldn’t mind access to a dry cleanerand a shoe repair shop.

  2. dynomite reid says:

    SO wise are you, Madame Mary!! I say: Embrace all the joys and all the horrors of your life in the same manner – with thankfulness – for we learn and grow equally from both.

    Another wise woman once said: “Security is mostly a superstition. It does not exist in nature, nor do the children of men as a whole experience it. Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure. Life is either a DARING ADVENTURE….or NOTHING.” – Helen Keller

    • why thank you! and you and ms. keller are both so right. i’m sure my companions would use the last line of your quote to make a case for high tailing it out of here. but it can also be a very extreme way of saying, “bloom where you’re planted”.

Leave a Reply

