Sunday Afternoon by mary elizabeth

Do you do your laundry at the laundromat or at home? I do mine at the laundromat and I’m actually getting a little sick of it. The novelty has definitely worn off. Not only does it eat up a chunk of my weekend, it confirms all my social phobias. I don’t like people talking to me under the best of circumstances. I really don’t like it when I’m trapped in a noisy room with my underwear in my hand. And let me just say for the record to all the men out there that might want to talk to me or any other woman in a laundromat: if you don’t have a washer and dryer, don’t waste your time.

Despite the fact that it’s Sunday and all our clothes are at the laundromat right now, abandoned to their fate while I write this, and that as soon as I put them in the dyer I  have to go to work for a little bit –  I am in a ridiculously good mood. It’s one of those rare days where I don’t feel like giving myself a hard time. I actually feel grateful for laundromats and jobs and all sorts of things I at which I usually look with squinty eyed distrust. Not today though. I must confess, the longer I’m sober the more naturally grateful I become. Didn’t see that coming. Anyhow – good news kids and boyfriend – your clothes are clean and I’m super glad about it! Happy Sunday!

4 thoughts on “Sunday Afternoon by mary elizabeth

  1. There is nothing like clean clothes.

  2. […] Bragg. It’s a rarity, believe me. We’re not used to it and I got a nasty sunburn last Sunday just reading in the backyard for a laundry cycle or two. It felt so good out there with the sun on […]

  3. […] to get ready to go instead of one.  Back to homework and projects and band practice.  Back to laundry, laundry, laundry.   I think I’m dreading it much more than they are.  And don’t get me wrong, mine are big […]

Leave a Reply

